Geri Ann Glasco Rising Star Award

Presented by Swivel Vision

*Click here  for other 2019 awards

On February 2, 2019, the award was officially named in honor of Glasco who was tragically killed in a car accident in January of 2019.   Geri Ann joined 1DZD's marketing division in 2017 and did a number of videos for Swivel Vision through an endorsement deal.  Her work with Swivel Vision, would ultimately earn her the 2017 1DZD Partnership Award.  

Past Recipients
Kenny Gajewski (2018), Jorge Araujo (2017), Rachele Fico (2016)

Finalists 2017

Carly Wynn, Erika Bennett, Ashley Chastain, JT Gasso, Kendra Cullum

Finalists 2016

Chanda Bell, Mackenzie Popescue, Laura Trout, Nicole Hudson

Eligibility Requirements
* Only FT positions as a head coach or assistant coach count.
* Can't be a current or past 1DZD Client.
* Assistant coach with not more than five seasons.
* Head coach in first stint with not more than three seasons and at least two winning seasons.
* Head coach in second stint with not more than five seasons and at least three winning seasons.

2019 Finalists

Carly Willert, AC, Eastern Illinois Univ. 

* Hired as assistant softball coach in fall of 2016
* Begins 
third season on EIU coaching staff for 2019 season
* Helped coach two first team All-OVC selections in 2018
* Helped coach two All-OVC Newcomer Team selections in 2017
* Helped coach one  
second team All-OVC selection in 2017
* Helped coach Panthers to two appearances in OVC Tournament (2017 & 2018)
* Helped coach Haley Mitchell to NFCA All-Region Honors (2017 & 2018)
* Helped coach Kayla Bear to NFCA All-Region Honors (2017)

Brittney Horan, AC, Central Michigan Univ.

Former Central Michigan softball standout Brittney Horan is in her fifth year on coach Margo Jonker’s staff and her third as a fulltime assistant coach. She has been an integral member of a staff that in 2017 led the Chippewas to the Mid-American Conference regular-season championship and the MAC West Division title.

Horan works with the Chippewa hitters, coaches baserunning, and is responsible for infield defense. The Chippewas have ranked among the top three hitting teams in the MAC over the past three seasons, and among the top four in fielding percentage over that same span. Among Horan's off-field responsibilities are academic progress, team travel and video coordination.

Horan has been instrumental in the past two seasons in the individual development of several Chippewas, five of whom have earned First Team All-MAC honors, two of whom have been named Second Team All-MAC, a MAC Freshman of the Year Award winner, and four who have received All-Region honors from the National Fastpitch Coaches Association.

With Horan as the program's academic coordinator, the Chippewas posted an impressive 3.51 cumulative team grade point average in 2017, a significant improvement over the previous year. A combined 17 Chippewas have earned Academic All-Mid-American Conference honors in the 2017 and 2018 seasons.

Ashley Carter, AC, CSU Bakersfield

Ashley Carter joined the CSUB softball coaching staff as an assistant coach in fall of 2018. Carter works with the Roadrunner hitters and outfielders.

Carter came to Bakersfield by way of Slippery Rock University in Pennsylvania. The native of Fontana, Calif. spent was an assistant coach for the NCAA Division II team from 2014-17. In her final year at SRU, Carter helped guide the squad to a 24-19 record, its highest win total since 2008. In Carter's four years with the school, Slippery Rock had 13 student-athletes earn All-Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference Western Division honors and one was selected as the PSAC West's Athlete of the Year.

Jamie Allred, AC, Univ. of North Texas

Allred is in her first year as an assistant coach with a focus on pitching for North Texas softball.

Allred began her coaching career as the pitching coach for DeLong at APSU after playing two seasons of professional softball overseas. A member of two national championship teams, she helped the Therwill Flyers (Basel, Switzerland) and Western Magpies (Auckland, New Zealand) to national titles in their respective countries.

Led by junior pitcher Morgan Rackel, the Governors' staff ranked 13th in Division I in strikeout-to-walk ratio (3.67) and posted the 32nd-best ERA (2.25) in the nation. Rackel was named third team all-region and made program history as the first player to earn NFCA All-Region honors.

The Ohio Valley Conference Pitcher of the Year, Rackel earned First Team All-OVC, All-OVC Newcomers Team and All-OVC Tournament Team honors, and finished the year in the top 50 nationally in ERA (1.41), strikeout-to-walk ratio (7.56), strikeouts (204) and wins (22).